bhakti yoga

Making the right decision to perform yoga on a daily basis is very important for good health.

There are different types of poses in yoga and each pose provides ultimate benefits to your body.

Now what is Bhakti Yoga? Well, according to Hinduism, Bhakti Yoga is centered on loving devotion and proves to be the spiritual practice.

It is also believed to be one of the three spiritual paths where Moksha or salvation can be achieved.

So, it is very important to make sure of practicing Bhakti Yoga with a loving and open heart.

What are the poses of Bhakti Yoga?

bhakti yoga pose

It is very interesting to note that Bhakti Yoga do not have any sort of poses unlike other types of yoga. So, it cultivates the spirit of unconditional love in the best manner.

How can Bhakti Yoga be practiced?

When it comes to Bhakti Yoga, it completely revolves around love. It is through devotional chanting that Bhakti Yoga can be practiced. It also involves the repetition of mantras as well.

More depth on Bhakti Yoga

It is important to know that Bhakti Yoga is very different from other types of yoga like that of Vinyasa and Hatha which centers on body moving.

Here, in Bhakti Yoga it does not require you to do any downward facing dog pose.

Here, you need to make sure to channel your emotional intensity in the best way and that too with the spirit of love.

What benefits can you get from Bhakti Yoga?

There are lots of benefits that you can get from this. Some of them include:

Relief from worry and stress

It helps a lot to cultivate a sense of peace, calmness and loves where you can find the best result that all your problems have fade away. 

So, you need to make sure of doing it in the right way where you do not have to perform any pose at all. You would surely be able to connect with the timeless divinity of all things in the best way.

It makes it possible to get rid of high levels of anxiety. Thus getting the right and positive results is possible by performing Bhakti Yoga.

Blissful feeling

Another best thing about Bhakti Yoga is that you do not need to lounge on the beach in order to get blessed out. 

By performing this yoga, it would be possible to make you feel truly love. So, it is all about breaking down barriers where you would be able to experience love and beauty of the moment.

Sense of love and gratitude

By performing Bhakti Yoga, you would be able to sense love and gratitude in the best way. It would make you feel deeply loved as well as love in return.

The core practices of Bhakti

Coming to the core practices of Bhakti, it involves focusing your emotions, mind as well as senses on the Divine. Let us have a good look at the core practices of Bhakti:

  • Japa: The repetition of mantras
  • Kirtan: Devotional chanting
  • Devotion to the Divine: The creation’s direction of unconditional love.

9 principles of Bhakti yoga

9 principles of Bhakti yoga

It is very important to have a good idea about the 9 principles of Bhakti Yoga. Well, the nine core principles of Bhakti Yoga have been outlined by Rupa Goswami, the teacher-poet-philosopher who wrote The Bhakti-rasamrta-sindhu, the sacred Hindu text.

They have been explained as under so as to get the right idea in the best way.

1. Shravana (listening)

It involves listening to poems, ancient scriptures, or stories.  They are especially those told by a Saint (aka Bhakta).

You need to know that this principle doesn’t happen solo. It is mandatory for you to join together with other devotees for Svarana.

2. Kirtana (singing)

The chanting or singing of the praises of Divine is known as Kirtana. So, the mantras come in handy.

3. Smarana (remembering)

Remembering the Divine at all times is referred to as Smarana. It does not matter where you are, but through Bhakti Yoga, it becomes possible to keep divinity at the forefront of your mind.

4. Padasevana (service)

When you express love toward the Divine through service, it is known as Padasevana.

It is to be noted that Padasevana also involves helping someone who is in need or volunteering or also to simply cultivate a sense of service and loving-kindness in your life.

5. Archana (ritual worship)

When you worship the Divine through external images or icons or gods with the aim to purify the heart through love, it is called Archana.

The commonly worshipped deities in Hinduism, include, Krishna, Ganesha Shiva, Durga, and so on.

6. Vandana (prayer)

When you pray and prostrate, then it is called Vandana.  When you pray, Bhakti makes it possible to limit self-centeredness and self-absorption.

7. Dasya (unquestioning)

Coming to Dasya, it happens to serve the will over the Divine instead of your own ego.  It leads to your next step when you listen to Divine without any fear or doubt or even questioning.

8. Sakhya (friendship)

Cultivating friendship toward the Divine is referred to as Sakhya. It means BBF no matter whether you see the Divine in deities or in all things.

9. Atmanivedana (self-offering)

Finally, when you totally surrender to the Divine nature of all things, it refers to Atmanivedana. So, this is called as self-offering.


Bhakti Yoga can prove to be much useful where you do not have to perform any poses at all.  It helps in cultivating the spirit of unconditional love in the best way.

You would surely be able to enjoy the ultimate benefits of Bhakti Yoga.

Recommended Articles